Pirate FM News 2 minute read

Brexit deal: This is how Cornwall's MPs voted

Brexit deal: This is how Cornwall's MPs voted

Published by Emma Carton at 7:40am 13th March 2019. (Updated at 7:41am 13th March 2019)

It has emerged all bar one of Cornwall's MPs voted to back Theresa May's latest Brexit deal.

However despite the Duchy's support, the Prime Minister's withdrawl agreement was rejected for the second time.

She lost by 149 votes on Tuesday night after that larger, 230-vote defeat, back in January.

How did my MP vote?

MP for St Ives and the Isles of Scilly, Derek Thomas - FOR

MP for Camborne and Redruth, George Eustice - FOR

MP for Truro and Falmouth, Sarah Newton - FOR

MP for North Cornwall, Scott Mann - FOR

MP for St Austell and Newquay, Steve Double - FOR

MP for South East Cornwall, Sheryll Murray - AGAINST

What happens now?

After the result of the Commons vote was announced, Mrs May confirmed she would push ahead with two further votes on Brexit outcomes this week.

The first happens on Wednesday, where MPs will vote on whether or not Britain should leave the EU without an agreement.

Most are expected to reject that option but if it goes ahead, they will vote on extending the Article 50 transition period.

This is what the Prime Minister had to say after the vote...

Contact Us

If you would like to submit a query or provide more information on this story please get in touch below.

Please wait...
  • Up to 3 JPG or PNG images, 2MB max size
  • We will always endeavour to credit you when we publish your pictures.
  • By uploading you are agreeing to this non-exclusive reuse, royalty-free, across all Pirate FM platforms, which extends to our partner broadcasters.
  • You retain copyright to all images.
  • If you would like to send us a video, please upload to YouTube or similar and paste the video URL into the message above.
Email Icon

Sign up for exclusive news, competitions and offers.
Proper Local News updates from Pirate FM

Pirate Extra Pirate 70s Escape LoveCornwall